• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Male 5'10" 203lbs 30 y/o

All are 3x5s except cleans
    Squat 340
    DL 365
    Press 145
    PC 165 5x3

I'm wondering if it's almost time to taper squats on the NLP to 1 heavy set and 2 backoffs. I'm really really fucking gassed after my first set, but I'm still hitting depth with pretty good form (a little chest pulling) - I had my form checked by Ryan on the technique forum.

My question is, how will I know when to taper? Do you recommend actually failing a lift before you consider tapering? Are there guideline weights for average males?

I'm not going to lie, Ryan told me that you don't know where your limits are that you should push it... but I am not sure if I want to fail a lift with 350+ lbs on my back. I have literally NEVER failed a squat before. I am self taught, with no spotters (y'all need to open a DC location). Gym has bars in their cages that can be used for safety.

As always, any help is much appreciated.
    Zack

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    When I saw the title of the post, I knew exactly what Rip's reply was going to be, without having to open the post.

I’ve read this article many times. It’s the reason I’m asking these questions because resting more between sets helped a lot from 315 to 340.

Resting 10+ minutes between sets. I set my alarm for 9 minutes, put my belt on and shit and then get focused, so it’s definitely 10+ minutes.

Sleeping well at least 8 hours a night. Not going to act like I’m the best sleeper in the world, but I’m definitely getting 7-9 and averaging 8.

NEVER gone up by more than 5 lbs on a squat other than ramping back up to 285 (took a month break due to changing cities and job). Took 10 lbs jumps on DL for awhile but stopped back at 315.

Eat a ton.

Morning:
    3-6 eggs
    3-6 sausage links
    Brussels sprouts or asparagus