starting strength gym

Thread: skipped POWER CLEAN during SS. How to add snatch & clean to Texas method?

Default skipped POWER CLEAN during SS. How to add snatch & clean to Texas method?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello,

I am a beginner-intermediate lifter (male, 33yr, 73kg @ 5'6", Indian). I had been doing starting strength novice program on&off for past 4 years, owing to months of breaks due to various personal reasons not related to health. Every time I got a few months break, I again started with empty bar. Now for past 6-7 months I made a good progress and finished the novice program.

I read couple of articles & watched few YouTube videos and started TEXAS METHOD for past 2 weeks. Today's Intensity day lifts are:

Intensity day: (today)
    Squat: 122.5kgx5
    Deadlift: 132.5kgx5
    OHP: 60kg x5

Having felt the need for more information than just an article, I got Practical Programming for Strength Training, 3rd Edition and read the TEXAS METHOD from it. I am glad I did read it from the book. It made me understand that sustaining this program for as long as I can is the best way to increase the numbers rather than doing something foolish.

My Problem:

I skipped POWER CLEAN during my novice program. I know, according to RIP, that is not following STARTING STRENGTH program. But none of the Gyms in the areas I used to stay had barbells. They had only 5-6 feet, 7-10 kg rods without any rotating collars. Most of the gyms even didn't have even a squat stand (forget about rack). With great difficulty I found Gyms with a squat stand and did the SS program. But now its not a problem because, 3 weeks ago, I bought a squat rack, and invested in a good 7feet, 20 kg Olympic barbell.