starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3rd shift recommendations

Default 3rd shift recommendations

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I dont rotate shifts..luckly...just straight 3rds 6 days a week. with forced overtime. just wondering some suggestions for maybe a program adjustment or volume. my job isnt super physical but nonetheless it's a job. and my sleep isnt all that great. I havent completely read the practical program but still chugging along. also I'm a novice age 35..weight 215. 6'0"

squats 280 3x5
    press 115 3x5
    deadlift 305 x5
    bench 155 3x5(working on form) to muchshoulder
    bb row 165 3x5

I just switch my wensday squat to a light day...80% of mondays weight. which I saw in the practical programming 18 week example.

thanks ahead of time

Greetings:

Sometimes life sucks.

Working six nights a week limits your options a bit. If you worked 4-10 or 3-12, then I would shift as many workouts to non-working days as possible. You are going to be more fatigued and get less recovery than most people. Basically you will be artificially aged. You could try some of the Barbell Prescription ideas like putting two rest days between every session instead of using a normal week format.

I used to work for a company where everyone worked night shifts. If this is long term for you, you should build yourself a "coffin" to sleep in. Walk-in closets work great for this. You need a place to sleep that is pitch black and cool to cold. Melatonin helps some people.

In the end NLP will end faster and at a lighter weight and you will have to move to more advanced training earlier than you would if you had a normal schedule.

so true about the artificial aging lol...seroiusly been told I look alot older than my actual age but anyways...yes I'm looking for better ways to deal with fatigue... is there a 4day split for a novice possibly