starting strength gym

Thread: Texas Method Killing Me

Default Texas Method Killing Me

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been doing TM for about 3 months now, switched to a 4 day split about a month ago, and it's been going great. I've been making consistent progress on all of my lifts. Only problem is that it has been absolutely wrecking me. I figured it would get better as my body adapted to the higher intensity, but it's only gotten worse. I'm sore probably about 75% of the time, and it seems like I pull something new every week. I did a deload, but that only marginally helped.

I know the usual answer it to tell me to eat more, but I'm 23, 6'0, and 234ish pounds already at 25ish% BF. I'm eating at a small surplus and I always make sure to get 1 g protein / lb of body weight.

I normally wouldn't have a problem being sore, but it's starting to interfere with my work and studies. Hell, if I sit too long my quads and glutes start cramping. What should I do?

Rest between sets?

I like to use Wendlers analogy of the bag of stress. I’ll paraphrase it as I understand it. You have a bag that fits all your stress. Your body puts all your stressors (intensity, volume, short rest periods, frequency, lack of sleep, lack of food, work stress, life stress, etc). Wendler says that when you add a stress, you need to remove another one. If you try to cram too much stress into the bag, you end up with the symptoms you describe.