starting strength gym

Thread: Advice with long workdays. Regarding squats mainly.

Default Advice with long workdays. Regarding squats mainly.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi.
    So im a pipe welder/fitter who works out of town all the time, working 12hrs a day mon-wed (staying at hotel) and about six hrs on thursdays (thursdays i go home), fri to sun off.

I usually train tuesday, friday and sunday but recently ive been training mon, wed, fri. Fridays and sundays i train quite early, around 11Am. Workdays 8PM.

After a long day working i really feel exhausted. Thats why i made tuesday a light day (-20%) and friday and sunday the regular 3x5reps +5lbs.

But since i for various reasons i cant train sundays, and instead move that session to monday, i feel i dont have the same power and cant be as focused as i am sundays (and fridays) and its really hard putting on more weight.

I would say i sleep good 8hrs, eat good about 3500cal, its just that it feels like shit doing heavy lifting on workdays. I am probably novice at squats (but its really hard adding weight two times/week), clean, deadlift. Possibly late novice/early intermediate at pressing and bench.

Anyone with similar experience and/or advice?

What is your height, weight, age and what are your 5x3 weights ?

I'm not anywhere remotely in your boat re: work schedule, but here's my suggestion: Make Friday-Saturday a 2-day upper/lower split. Go heavy on your top sets, and then get in lots of volume via drop sets (at least 3 sets of 5 at 85-90% of your top set). Then pick one more day during the week to go full body, all four main lifts, at lower intensity and volume: Perhaps 3 sets of 5 for each lift at 80%.