starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Questions about program switch (urgent!)

Post Questions about program switch (urgent!)

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello and first of all thanks for this epic forum,

I have been running Starting Strength for the past 3 months but have been training about 8 months before that as well. I have always had problems increasing my strength but decided to give SS a try. So far I have had pretty "good" results but only on my squat and on my overhead press.

Squat 210 lbs > 265 lbs (5 RM)
    OH 100 lbs > 108 lbs (5 RM)

The rest of the lifts (deadlifts, bench, and clean) I have barely increased in strength at all. I think this might have to do with a lack of volume. As of today, my 5 RM for deadlift is 320 lbs, 175 lbs for bench press and 3RM for power clean 145 lbs. I would still consider myself pretty weak considering how long I have been training. I began micro loading on both bench and OH pretty early as I knew that I would have to challenge with these weights. After recently switching to phase 3, after continuously failed reps on both squats, overhead press and bench press, where chin-ups and back extensions are introduced I have had the thoughts of switching to another program. Today I for the first time tried Madcow 5x5 (which I believe is a natural bridge from SS) where weekly increases are occurring rather than daily. However, I am not sure if this is too early for me to switch program and need your help ASAP. I want to gain strength as quickly as possible and am not sure which way to go.

For your reference I think my stats are:
    Male 18
    Height: 5'10
    Weight: 176 lbs

My diet has been good with enough protein and calories to maintain (and perhaps gain a lil bit) weight and 8+ hours of sleep. I am now working from home which means more recovery and fewer activities during the day.