starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programming Chins

Default Programming Chins

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    SS3ED suggests starting with 3 sets of body-weight chins to sub in for the deadlift. I have noticed that every time I do chins, my bench will struggle mightily at the next workout, presumably from frying my triceps. Also, I'm not very good at chins, and not getting much better (been at 7, 7, 6 for a while). The rest of the lifts are progressing nicely.

When I had unrelated elbow pain I did Rip's program of submaximal reps of chins which not only took care of the elbow pain just as advertised, I also got quite a bit more volume in. 4 chins, rest 30 seconds, 4 more, rest 45 seconds, 4 more, rest 1 minute, etc... In total, I did 35 in less than 20 minutes.

My question is this: For getting better at chins within the NLP, must we do 3-sets of AMRAP body weight, or can we do something like 'as many reps within X number of minutes' in order to get the most out of the program?

Please yourself. Chins are not a main lift. Just keep in mind that it's real easy to irritate things with some schemes, eg. low rep + adding weight, probably due to the tension aspects.

Curious as to how one can fry their triceps doing chins? As far as impacting your bench, the only impact I see would be fatiguing your lats, perhaps.

Just my assumption, I certainly could be wrong. The workout after chins, I would routinely fail my next progression on bench and I thought there was a relationship.

Quote Originally Posted by BastiatBB View Post
    Curious as to how one can fry their triceps doing chins? As far as impacting your bench, the only impact I see would be fatiguing your lats, perhaps.