starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Continue LP?

Default Continue LP?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been pushing the LP since early April when I started training in earnest for the first time, but I feel like I am on the edge of burnout and injury.

Press/Bench/Deadlift are still going up every almost every session (2.5lbs for press/bench, 5lbs for deadlift) but my shoulders are beginning to give, and the squat is almost stalled.

Do I keep pushing on the bleeding edge of progression, or is it best to switch from the LP to the Texas Method or equivalent? Also, why would my squat be lagging when everything else is going up for 5 months straight?

Stats and progression below for context.

Male
    30yo, 6'1" 245lbs (up from 195 in April).
    ~3,500-4,500+ calories daily
    Bench - 262.5 lb 3x5 (155 in April)
    Press - 200lbs 3x5 (135 in April)
    Deadlift 410 1x5 (285 in April, but dropped back to 315 and started LP over to correct for rounded back I didn't know I had until late May)
    Squat 260 3x5 (135 in April)

I did switch to a SSB in June to save my shoulders that laid me off for a week, maybe that is it?

What's the story with the squat?

Quote Originally Posted by RMiller1991 View Post
    Also, why would my squat be lagging when everything else is going up for 5 months straight?
    Going to need to see video to understand why you might have a 260lb. squat--seems anomalous.

Quote Originally Posted by Satch12879 View Post
    What's the story with the squat?
    My best guess is long legs, bad knees, and having to take a few breaks due to shoulder issues and a mild knee injury a few months back.

Also, it started at the same place my OHP started (135lbs) which doesn't help, but that doesn't explain why my weakest lift is stalling, and the other 3 are still going up (especially Press/Bench).