starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: TM: Dropping the volume day % but sticking with the same intensity day rep scheme?

Default TM: Dropping the volume day % but sticking with the same intensity day rep scheme?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been running the Texas Method for a little under two months now. My squat is up to a heavy set of 5 at 155KG on intensity and my volume day percentage offset is still at 90% (i.e. last volume day was 140kg x 5 x 5). I understand that TM is heavily modifiable and that it is just a blueprint, but I still have a couple of trivial questions simply because I want to make sure that I'm not making any stupid mistakes that would lead to me unnecessarily hindering my own progress.

• PPST says that one should make the jump to the next rep scheme on intensity day (e.g. from 1 x 5 to 2 x 3 to 3 x 2, etc...) when the previous one becomes sufficiently hard. PPST also says that one should do this before ever failing on the previous rep scheme. How do I accurately judge when it's time to do this though? Do I go off of feeling alone? My last heavy set of 5 on intensity day was somewhat grindy and I am debating if it is time to switch to 2 x 3 (two triples).
    • The TM presentation given by Paul Horn couples the switch from one rep scheme to the next on intesity day, with the volume day percentage offset. I.e. when switching from 1 x 5 to 2 x 3 on intensity, the percentage offset goes down from 90% to 85%. My question is would it make sense to de-couple these, i.e. for me to keep squatting a single heavy set of 5 on intensity, but to drop the volume day percentage offset from 90% to 87.5% for example? I feel as though I could try for 157.5kg x 5 next intensity day, but I feel that keeping volume at 90% (i.e. me squatting 142.5kg x 5 x 5) would kill me.

Height/bodyweight/age?