starting strength gym

Thread: Am I wasting my time?

Default Am I wasting my time?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm a novice. I detrained recently but I'm finally back on the right track.
    During my detraining I had time to reread the blue book and realize that I was initially training myself wrong. My squat caught up to my deadlift but I knew that something was off with that, so I pushed the gas on my deadlift and did a work set of four-hundred and five pounds by five reps. The number really isn't that important.

I believe I am reaching the Advanced Novice phase but maybe a bit earlier because I've been taking it easy on deadlift. I get more fatigued from my squats than my deadlift. I feel that I have a lot more to gain in my deadlift. I'm speculating that if I could accurately program it, I could earn a bit more strength from my deadlift, and translate that to my other lifts before I move to intermediate programming.

Is this unique? How does a lifter overcome this awkward hiccup in programming?

What’s your age, height, body weight and current numbers (aside deadlift) which you have provided? Have you answered the 3 questions?

Quote Originally Posted by AgreeResolveParticipate View Post
    During my detraining I had time to reread the blue book and realize that I was initially training myself wrong. My squat caught up to my deadlift but I knew that something was off with that, so I pushed the gas on my deadlift and did a work set of four-hundred and five pounds by five reps. The number really isn't that important.