• starting strength seminar august 2024
    5’7, 200lbs
    250G protein, roughly 3000 cal daily.

Deadlift:
    PR: 1x1@475
    Monday: 2x3@85%
    Wednesday: 1x5@75%
    Friday: 1x1@PR, 1x2@90%

Parents won’t let me clean or snatch in their garage so it’s all deadlifts.

After a pretty slow rep (with good form) at 475 this past Friday I figured it was the right time to drop a workset. I’ve gone back and forth trying to decide if I should drop the heavy double on Friday, or one set of 3 on Monday.

So I’m looking for feedback. My deadlifts look, and feel most fatigued during the heavy triples on Monday by evidence of form videos, the double by comparison is challenging but not grueling. What makes more sense? Reducing the volume on Monday since I’m feeling most fatigued? Or try and prevent the problem by reducing the volume on Friday?

I’ve been running this format for a little over 2 months.

Not really anything to do with your question but why won't your parents let you do cleans? Just curious.

How much are you squatting in addition to this? You would probably benefit from deadlifting less than this and possibly using RDLs for your volume to give the back a break off the floor.

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Santana View Post
    How much are you squatting in addition to this? You would probably benefit from deadlifting less than this and possibly using RDLs for your volume to give the back a break off the floor.
    Last week my squat work was:
    Monday: 5x5@345
    Wednesday: 2x5@330
    Friday: 1x5@380 (going to switch to 2x3@385 this week, I hit the full set of 5 but it was close.)

I have the most trouble with my pulls from upper-shin until above the patella. I'm pretty good breaking off the floor and at lockout. I don't have a full power rack so the only limitation I have is no rack pulls. If I did sub an accessory movement, what day would it make sense to program it/ how would you?

Quote Originally Posted by dalan View Post