starting strength gym

Thread: BJJ Athlete Programming Question

Default BJJ Athlete Programming Question

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey guys i have been runnning a conjugate type program for the past 6 months or so with max effort, speed work and repetition work as i've been told this is one of the best ways to program for a BJJ athlete as it incorporates speed work and using rep work with high stimulus low fatigue exercises is a good idea for someone who wants to get stronger whilst training BJJ.

I am a competitive brown belt and compete often.

I have the biggest match of my lift on the 25th March and want to get as strong as possible whilst keeping the focus on my BJJ and being conditioned etc so i can come in and perform at my best.

What would you guys do in my situation?

I am currently trimming off some bodyfat to get my weight down for the match as i have to be around 3kg lighter than i currently am.

Current numbers are:

Weight: 87KG

Squat - 140KG
    Bench - 100KG
    Deadlift - 170KG

Would you wait until afterwards before switching to another programming style or should i move over to a standard barbell type program now?

If so, which one would you reccomend?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by JTay97 View Post
    Hey guys i have been runnning a conjugate type program for the past 6 months or so with max effort, speed work and repetition work as i've been told this is one of the best ways to program for a BJJ athlete as it incorporates speed work and using rep work with high stimulus low fatigue exercises is a good idea for someone who wants to get stronger whilst training BJJ.

I am a competitive brown belt and compete often.

I have the biggest match of my lift on the 25th March and want to get as strong as possible whilst keeping the focus on my BJJ and being conditioned etc so i can come in and perform at my best.