starting strength gym

Thread: 47 year old male programming

Default 47 year old male programming

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been training my dad who is 47 years old, 6’ 1”, 215lbs, for 9 months and he has been progressing very well.

Numbers:
    Squat 115x5x3 — 287.5x5
    Press 75x5x3 — 129x3x3
    Bench 105x5x3 — 162x5
    Deadlift 205x5 — 370x5
    Starting BW: 208.8lbs

I am having a hard time knowing how to program him. I have been going through the normal progressions to his NLP as written in the books, but I’m not sure what the best programming changes are for him. He is older, but in good health so I’m not sure what type of approach I should take with him going forward. I have limited experience training clients his age, as the only other client I have over 40 is my mother who has had no problem progressing on her conservative 2 day a week program. However she is a woman, and my dad is much more intense than she is and so far he has been capable of being on a pretty much vanilla NLP, 3 days a week.

This is his current program:

Friday
    Squat 1x5
    Press 3x3
    Deadlift 1x5

Sunday
    Squat 2x5 (70-80% of Friday)
    Bench 5x3
    Chins

Tuesday
    Squat 3x5 (90% of Friday)
    Press 3x3
    Deadlift 2x5 (80% of Friday)

I’m doing H-L-M for squat and deadlift and alternating workouts with press and bench. Press has been stuck doing 3x3 for a little while now since I switched him from 3x5, and bench he recently had pain in his shoulder so I switched him from 3x5 (top set + back-offs) to 5x3 (sets across) at a reduced weight, narrowed his grip, had him use Voltaren gel very liberally, and he has been making small progress for the past few weeks and now his shoulder has healed well.

H-L-M has been going well for his deadlift for the past month, and I just started him on H-L-M for squat just last week.