starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "Ideal" Bodyweight & BF% vs. Height

Default "Ideal" Bodyweight & BF% vs. Height

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    And I don't mean the worthless BMI measurement.

Specifically, I'm curious what you all would consider to be a good weight for someone like me: Male, 6'2" , 33 years old.

I'm currently a rank novice looking to begin SS, I tend toward skinny fat, and I'd like to have a realistic goal to shoot for over the next year or two. As of this morning, I'm sitting at 216lbs and 25% BF measured by calipers. I have no interest in getting to 5% BF so that I can show off 'teh gunz and teh abz'. My interest is in getting strong, something I haven't ever been. So my question could be rephrased as:

"In your experience, what would be a realistic outcome, in terms of bodyweight and body fat %, for someone of my height once novice strength gains have been exhausted?"

Thanks for the input.

Jason

No one here has a crystal ball. Just do the damn programme and eat accordingly for someone who is 25% bodyfat and see where you get.

It's all up to what you put into it. If you drink your gallon of milk a day, get proper nutrition and enough calories, and do your lifts you'll gain size and strength.

Quote Originally Posted by Smack View Post
    No one here has a crystal ball. Just do the damn programme and eat accordingly for someone who is 25% bodyfat and see where you get.
    Thanks, Smack. I intend to do just that.

Perhaps I wasn't clear in terms of the generality of the question. I was definitely not asking anyone to predict my future. Just an 'academic' question for you guys to kick around for my own edification.

BTW, I did use Google and the site search functions before posting. Honest.

Ideal bodyfat% for strength is about 10-12% Ideal bodyweight for strength of somebody 6'2 is probably around 300lbs