starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grippers/Straps For Deadlift

Default Grippers/Straps For Deadlift

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    If I am losing my grip on the bar during deadlifts, should I use straps to be able to lift more weight, or just stay where I'm at until my grip gets stronger? I was going to post this question on the gripper forum but everyone on there seems to have conflicting opinions. I have been doing deadlifts for a few months but only recently have I started focusing on increasing weight. I'm 5'8" and weighed 140lbs 8 months ago and am now up to 172lbs. I'm currently only deadlifting about 195 for 3x5 and I start to lose my grip on the last couple of reps in the last set. I could probably be working with 225 or more if I used straps. I haven't wanted to use straps because I just figured I would wait for my grip to get stronger so I can lift more. What's your opinion? Thanks.

hook grip?

I would try to complete as many sets w/o the straps first, but use them if you can't get the later sets. Are you using an mixed grip right now? Also, do you use chalk? I would use an alternating mixed grip with chalk first, before I tried straps.

Either way, even if you are going mixed, try to get as many as you can w/o the straps first.

You are still pretty low on your numbers to be thinking of straps. Do you have abnormally small hands/bad bars/hex plates at your gym?

Theres nothing wrong with using straps when you need, even Bill Starr thought it was a better idea than using mixed grip. But to resort to it before two plates is pretty premature. Do your warm ups/any back off sets with normal double overhand grip. Use hook grip + chalk for worksets. If this stops working used mixed grip or straps.