starting strength gym

Thread: Newbie Deadlift Injury Advice

Default Newbie Deadlift Injury Advice

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everybody, first of all forgive me for my bad english, i'm writing from Italy.

I'm 29, weight 170 lbs, height 6,07 foots (185cm) i'm underweight, i know.
    I'm a weightlifting newbie, just bought the book from UK and i hope it arrives next week.

Three days ago (wednesday) i injured my low back while deadlifting on the second set of 5 (i'm a beginner so the weight was light, 140lbs) , not that much pain when it happened but the morning after i couldn't just step out of my bed, the strange thing is that on sunday i've done a 5x5 set with the same weight and had no problem. The only thing that felt different the last time was that i was trying to overextend my lower back in order to keep it straight and not to '''round'' it, probably wrong choice?? Probably because of that i wasn't engaging hamstrings and gluten properly to be tight before the lift?
    I've seen a Nick Delgadillo video on YouTube where he says ''shove your belly into your thighs'', next time i will try that.

Now it's getting a little better, i try to move myself during the day, the worst part of the day is still waking up....(on wednesday i will go to the osteopath)

The first thing that i will do when i will be able again to train is contact a SSC for an online checking of my main exercises form.

I can post a video but it's recorded from the side, unfortunately i've read the ''sticky thread'' after recording them. It's OK too?

Here is my question, i really have problems into getting in the right starting position before starting the deadlift, should i avoid them for now and do something like reverse hypers or rack pulls to strengthen the lower back and then try again to perform deadlifts?

Thanks a lot.

Francesco