starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Question for Rip - Overtraining?

Default Question for Rip - Overtraining?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I looked through some old threads and didn't find anything SPECIFICALLY to this problem..hope you can help.

Hey Mark I've become a big fan of yours after reading SS and the vast amount of knowledge you have. I have a pesky problem that's been bothering me for the last couple years. I'm doing Madcow's Intermediate 5x5 routine. I'm sure you're familiar.

Anyways, my bench has done well on the program but my squat has really suffered. This program was the first time I've ever deadlifted. I've been lifting serious for the last 3 years and didn't initally deadlift when I was a novice. (I'm really wishing I would have started on SS my loss.)

Ever since I started this program my squat has really suffered. My top set 5 rep max was 270x5 now I can only muster 200x5! My squat is actually worse than my bench press right now. You can probably imagine how frustrating and embarassing that is. I know this type of program recommends high calorie intake and I've simply just maintained weight until recently getting serious about bulking.

My hypothesis is the deadlifts and squatting 3x per week on this program have created a toll on my low back I'm struggling to recover from. I stopped deadlifting 3 weeks ago and switched one of the barbell row days to db row to take as much stress off the lower back as possible. I don't think I have a form issue with my squat because my form is no different than when my squat was doing well.

I've read the low back is quickly and easily overtrained. Do I need to stop squatting for a while and let the lower back recover? I've tried deloading my squat, squatting at a higher intensity, etc. nothing seems to give. I'm hoping you can help me out. Thanks Rip

P.S. my stats:
    height: 5'11