starting strength gym

Thread: DL and Squat Form Check

Default DL and Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi guys,

This is somewhat of a repost from my post on the training section of the forum. Members there recommended I post this here to hear the SS coaches opinions. Thanks in advance for your time guys.

Back story:
    I saw my chiropractor recently who got some x-rays done on my spine and they identified some compression in my mid-back area. I had noticed a little bit of pain surrounding deadlift and sometimes squat days in that area the last month or two, but not enough to really bother me so I didn't think much of it.

However, based on those results I had a friend take a closer look at my deadlift and squat form and have identified some possible issues.

These are just my observations, but I am a novice as far as this is concerned and would appreciate hearing some professional advice J

Squat video:
    I noticed some some anterior pelvic tilt in the squat when driving out of the hole, can anyone else confirm this and also identify any issues and what I can do to resolve them?

http://youtu.be/LCcGyYc-DTI

Deadlift video:

I think due to good flexibility I’ve actually been over-extending my spine when setting up my chest for the deadlift. When I concentrate on this closely, I can actually feel those vertebraes come together and a slight bit of pain there when I extend my back when pulling my chest upwards.

Video 1: (My old form with possible hyper extension and head up)
    http://youtu.be/sxFsCxb388o

Video 2: (Me trying not to hyper extend so much, whilst trying to force my head down. But I’m a bit nervous about doing this as it looks like it caused my back angle to round?
    http://youtu.be/qcpGRCANHW8