starting strength gym

Thread: Irregular training schedule

Default Irregular training schedule

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I hope this is the right sub-forum for this topic...

I am a retail manager and as such have a variable schedule from week to week. I work five days a week but that is the only consistent aspect of my schedule. I may have to be at work as early as 8am and stay as late as 9:30 or 10pm (occasionally even earlier or later). Times in/out and days on/off vary from week to week.

As such, I have managed to hack out a training "schedule" which centers around work. I lift before work 3-4 days a week entirely dependent upon my schedule. Some weeks I have to push through 3 days in a row. Other weeks things are more spread out. I am also limited by my gym's hours (which are generous). I have been doing some variation of this training structure for about 18 months.

Now, obviously this isn't ideal and it means I can't commit myself to a more structured training program such as TM, as the stress/adaptation cycle and rotation of volume and intensity days cannot be consistently applied. On weeks where I have several training days in a row the last workout can be a grinder. I also fully realize that my gains will be slower than they may be otherwise.

However, I have found success with this training structure. I took my 1RM squat from 365 to 425, bench from 295 to 325, DL from 455 to 500, and press from 190 to 200. All of these were achieved this spring before I had to lay off for most of this year due to the birth of my son.