starting strength gym

Thread: Novice SSv3: When should DL progress to PC?

Default Novice SSv3: When should DL progress to PC?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Sex: Male
    Weight: 188lbs (85.5kg)
    Height: 5'9"
    Squat WW: 55kg
    Bench press WW: 40kg
    Deadlift WW: 60kg
    Press WW: 30kg
    Power clean: n/a
    Chinups max: n/a
    Locale: UK

Novice. Starting Strength in a committed fashion for the first time less than a month ago. Made a few mistakes because I hadn't taken it all in, I'm still learning. Started the program fresh this week, after creating a 'proper' program just completed session 2 (B).

No special diet, I am attempting to get my training programming correct whilst eating lots of whole foods several times a day. I will be constructing a diet over the coming months. I'm in this for the long term and don't want to overwhelm myself with rigid plans, diets, calorie counting, macros etc. just yet. I think it's enough to be learning proper form and the programming first. I will be assessing my tolerance to GOMAD after completing the fourth week, I think that is sensible.

Looking to get strong for the rest of my life. Not a body builder. Always impressed by power lifting and strongman competitions.

I am monitoring my weight and body fat out of interest, to understand the changes my body is going through during my journey. My BF has gone down from 28.5% at 84.7kg on 22 September to 22.3% at 85.5kg on 05th October.

Here is my simple question:

When do I go to Power Cleans from Dead Lifts?
    Or am I asking the wrong question entirely?

I have read and re read v3, I have listened to Rip's pod casts, read the wiki and searched Google.

In the Wiki it states "Once the freshness of the dead lift has worn off a little and the dead lift is established well ahead of the squat, the power clean can be introduced:".