starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello, fellow Geezers/Geezettes!

Default Hello, fellow Geezers/Geezettes!

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello, fellow Geezers! I'm new to SS, and have been lurking for a couple months, but have just started posting (and, more importantly, lifting!). I'm a Geezoid (51), and haven't done any lifting since high school, and even that was pretty limited. Started high school at 5' 9", ~120#, and finished at 5' 10", ~140#. Put on maybe 10 more pounds in college, but spent most of the last 10-15 years in the 195 range. Lost about 10 pounds over this past winter/spring, to get below 185# for the first time in a very long time. This was mainly accomplished by cutting out chips/cheetos/etc while sitting in front of the TV. I could polish off a bag in 1-2 sittings, and it's amazing I never gained more weight than I did.

I heard about SS from Coach Rip's articles on PJMedia, and have read those with great interest since last year, but have just recently been able to get with the program. Got the book in late March, and put together a home gym at the beginning of June, and have done a few workouts, so far. Putting up a beginner's log, also, you can see it here: SeanThornton gets back in fighting shape!