starting strength gym

Thread: Power Clean Form Check

Default Power Clean Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have been training for a while but this is my first attempt at power cleans. I carefully followed the teaching progression in the book and then did my working sets at 50kg (I tried 60kg but found it too heavy to be able to rack every time).

Power Clean Form Check 50kg x 3 - YouTube

There are obviously a lot of problems with it, but I think the main one I need to work on first is that everything happens at the wrong time (my feet land, then the bar lands on my shoulders, then I finish raising my elbows).

Believe it or not, I am trying ridiculously hard to get my elbows up at the same time as the bar lands on my shoulders. I am trying to slam my elbows up and into the middle into an imaginary pair of hands like it says in the book and is shown in the videos. You can a perfect example of this in the second rep, where my elbows violently snap forwards where I am attempting to do this, but then they just stop before they are raised all the way. I have the flexibility to get into the rack position but I just can't make myself do it when I need to for some reason.

As for my feet not landing at the same time as racking the bar, the book says: “The simultaneity of the two events is fairly automatic, and not too many people will stomp out of phase with the rack because it just feels too weird.” While I agree it definitely feels weird/wrong, it doesn't happen automatically for me and I just can't seem to force it to happen at the same time, so I don't really know what to do about this either.

Two other issues I can see...

- Landing in a split stance. The book says this is often associated with racking issues so I think I should probably try and fix my rack before focusing on this.

- The weight shifting back onto my heels when I land.