starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Strength plateau - begging for help at this point

Default Strength plateau - begging for help at this point

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Sorry if this is tldr. A little bit of background on me, im currently 6'3 and ~220lbs. Ive been training for upwards of 6 years and have only been serious about getting stronger the past couple of years. I've had stints with 5/3/1, PHAT, and PH3, but now im currently training with a competitive powerlifter in my uni gym and he has me training every day, with 9 total sessions with a linear based approached (adding 5-10lbs a week with a lot of accessory work).

The problem is, I have been stuck around the same numbers for practically 2 years. 440/300/485 seems to be what ive been stuck around. Recently ive been gaining weight but im still making zero strength gains. I get bigger, but strength seems to just not come to me anymore. I dont know if its a psychological problem or if my training is bad, nutrition...? I figured if im putting on weight i would be getting stronger, but im not. I dont want to go to upwards of 20% bf to get stronger but at this point im thinking that this is the only thing that will get me passed this intermediate stage. I really need some insight on how to break past this intermediate level of strength.

tldr: been stuck at intermediate lifts for several years, cant get stronger despite gaining weight, what should i be looking at fixing.

5/3/1, PHAT and PH3 are all suboptimal programs. I'd say training 5 days a week with 9 total sessions also sounds suboptimal, but there's no way for me to really know what this guy's got you doing. Look into The Bridge by Jordan Feigenbaum and Austin Baraki over at Barbell Medicine. Probably a program better suited to your needs, can also be run on a slight deficit if you want to. Good luck man