starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Texas Method or Starting Strength

Default Texas Method or Starting Strength

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello Mr. Rippetoe, I purchased your basic barbell training book years ago. I love it! Thank you. I have been working out using your techniques for a few years now (altho not as diligently as I’d like) and I have 2 questions I was hoping you could help me with. First, I am 42 years old. Decent shape: run 3 miles in 26’30”, bench 315 max, curl 135# barbell, curl 80# dumbbells, BB military press 165#, can squat about 200# (don’t squat much cuz knees starting to hurt as I get older), 6’-2” tall, and 230#. So my questions are: 1. Should I squat if my knees are starting to hurt me? 2. Given the above, would you classify me as a novice or intermediate? (I ask because I want to know if I should follow basic barbell training or Texas method? And what point do I start the Texas Method?

1) if you were working out with SS techniques, you wouldn't have a 315 bench to a 200 squat.
    2) the Texas method is not for people in their 40s. Do not use it. Perhaps run old man Texas method. Before considering that, however,
    3) with a 200 lb squat, it's pretty dang unlikely you are an intermediate lifter (though you may be on your bench and press). If 200 lb squats are hurting your knees such that you are not squatting much, you're probably squatting wrong. Therefore,
    4) get a coach. startingstrengthonlinecoaching.com or SSCA : Coaching
    5) stop running until you've finished your LP
    Last edited by Charles Jenkins; 06-19-2018 at 02:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Torresleoncio View Post
    Given the above, would you classify me as a novice or intermediate?