starting strength gym

Thread: rebuilding muscle after weight loss

Default rebuilding muscle after weight loss

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello,

I am not elderly(age 47), but the discussions on this forum are very relevant to my life circumstances. read on...

A bit of background: Age 47, 6'2", 190 pounds. I am a stroke survivor(2010-left side weakness remains) and DVT(2015) survivor and have several other ailments such as Asthma, Adrenal insufficiency and Sleep Apnea. Atypical 47 YO guy I guess.
    I have been lifting for several years(since 2014-15) on SS. In 2017 my squat and deadlift hovered around 200 lbs. My press never got much above 65-70 pounds.

I have been over weight for many years, weighing in the 240s as of 6 months ago. This year I lost 50 pounds (down to 190) primarily due to clean eating. This has helped my health in general in so many ways-Asthma,Apnea, mobility.

However, the issue is losing muscle mass in addition to fat. The 190 pound me just can't lift nearly as well as the 240 pound me. Right now I struggle to squat/Deadlift in mid 100s and press in the 40s.

I am thinking about just restarting Novice Linear Progression and increment very slowly to rebuild strength on the 190 lb frame.

Any thoughts/ideas/experiences in this regard are most welcome

-Jon Turner- Canton, GA

Well whatever the past, you appear to be in LP now. Your PR's won't return as easily down 50 pounds.
    I've lost 20 pounds I needed to lose it far more than you and I feel it. (aka 280 to 260 at 6'2") I feel like 240 is where it is going to "work for me".

Get a good set of microplates.
    Microplates for sale
    Use them.

Of course:
    The First Three Questions | Mark Rippetoe
    Applies, and in your case #3 is sort of a red flag. (aka 190 pounds is not optimal for lifting)