starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: TRT

Default TRT

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Gents and Ladies, but mostly Gents:

Save Time Summary: Get your testosterone levels checked by a doctor that knows how to do testosterone replacement therapy.

Back story: 63 years old, I've been doing SS lifting for a couple of years. In the last year or so, my progress stalled and I've been doing "maintenance" lifts for a while, because I found recovery harder and harder. In addition, my libido took a vacation and I was tired a lot. Most of us put all this down to age and accept it as part of the bad of getting older.

But, and it's a big but, I went to a urologist and had my testosterone tested. It was under 200. My PSA was 3.8, which prompted the urologist to order a prostate biopsy before TRT. Clean, but he wanted an MRI. Clean too. SOP is another biopsy (different areas of the prostate). All because he said higher testosterone = higher prostate cancer risk. Finally perscribed the testosterone, twice a month injections. No other therapy or prescriptions.

Within a month my hematocrit level jumped from 49 to 58. Took me off TRT and referred my to an endocrinologist. 4 month wait where I live, because all endocrinologists do these days is treat type 2 diabetes. Finally got in, he took three minutes to look at my blood work and prescribe bromocritine because of a high prolactine test (once. never showed up in any other test). $800 and 5 minutes later, I'm outside and pissed off.