starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2nd Apinion

Default 2nd Apinion

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I visited my Doctor for my annual physical yesterday. He continues to want me on statin drugs. I have been saying no for many years. He said just because things look good on the outside doesn't mean everything on the inside is OK. I said the only reason is because of my age (68) and sex (M). This time he is a little more insistent and states that they would mitigate the potential for rupture of the arterial calcification I have. My Agatston Score is 229. All the calcification is on the left side. This was about two years ago. I am right in the middle (53%) of the percentile for my age. Of course he played with the heart strings! Your Grandkids depend and need you!

I have "heard" that statin drugs are not good for muscle (and the heart is one). He said not every one experiences muscle pain. I am not sure if that is the only side effect?

My blood work from a year ago is:

HGBA1C 5.6
    Ave Blood Sugar 114
    Cholesterol 187
    Triglyceride 71
    HDL 41
    Cholesterol - Non- HDL 146
    LDL 137

Since training these have fallen into the "normal" range although at the upper end of it.

I do not have blood work yet for this year. Next week sometime. It should be interesting!

I have no trouble with workouts but the last couple of weeks fatigue has been so bad on a couple days I have had to skip a workout. I think this is due more to lack of sleep, poor eating, and a hard training session the day before. Oh! and of course watching Grandkids.

This is not a question about to train or not to train. But do statins really mitigate the possibility of an arterial rupture (if that is the correct terminology?)? Should I make considerations to training in light of this?

68 YO
    Male
    5'7"
    170 lbs

Thurs workout - worksets

Squats 205x5x3 (paused)