starting strength gym

Thread: Occupational shoulder flexibility

Default Occupational shoulder flexibility

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’m a trades pipe welder. In certain situations at work (welding overhead or uncomfortable fixed positions) I tend to get bound up. I have full range of motion on all pressing movements.

Assuming someone desired greater flexibly outside of training, is there a method of increasing flexibility (I’m talking very minor improvements, not full on yogi shit) that can be safely performed without subjecting yourself to problems during the barbell lifts?

My situation pertains to the upper body. Specifically my shoulders. Rotating either shoulder internally or externally with arms extended 50-100%.

Do you do chins? Do you have trouble hanging from the bar in full extension?

To the extent to which mobility is trainable, it is primarily trained a strength based adaptation: you train your body to support the joint through the increased range of motion. You could try loading the range of motion you're dying to achieve, and stretching into it until you achieve the ROM you desire (the way you do with immobile people and the squat and deadlift, for example).

It'd be interesting to know exactly what you are after. You say you are "bound up": do you mean your muscles just cramp? Or there a position you can't achieve that you are trying to? If the former, the press will eventually fix that. If the latter, what is that position? Can you not rotate your shoulders when your arms are extended? I don't think anyone really can based on how the shoulders are built, but maybe I'm misreading you.

No, I have not been training chins. I am able to hang from the bar in full extension. I’ve found when training chins I have trouble recovering from the training/occupational stress on my forearms (using an angle grinder all day).