starting strength gym
Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Intermediate Programming for the Upper Body Lifts | Nick Delgadillo

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a little late to the party, but thanks for the article Nick. It's great. It's articles like this that make me want a printed anthology of SS articles.
    Starting Strength Indianapolis is up and running. Sign up for a free 30-minute coaching session.
    I answer all my emails: ALewis@StartingStrengthGyms.com

Quote Originally Posted by Justin Johnson View Post
    Hey Nick. I've been using this method with a 4 day split for a couple months now. The 5x5 strict press failed on my last session, and has been really difficult for a few weeks now. All other upper body lifts are still progressing 2.5lbs weekly with no real grind. Would you suggest to involve the hips or stretch reflex to continue going up in weight, or something else altogether?

I'm primarily performing the 4 main lifts at the moment, and only getting in chins and rows occasionally.

Last lifts and rest
    Strict press - 165x5x3, failed 5th rep on 4th set. 3:30 rest
    Press singles - 197.5x1x7 1:30 rest
    Bench 5rm - 272.5x5
    Bench volume - 247.5x5x4 3:00 rest (I'm generally a little strapped for time on this day, so I was using sets of 4 until it stopped working)
    A few things you can do: first thing I have most people do is set a range on the volume day - around 10-15 lbs or so. Get all 5x5 done varying weight within the range. The range moves up when all the sets are completed at 5x5 across. OR, you can try going for 5-6 triples on volume day one week, and 5x5 on the alternating week's volume day.

Quote Originally Posted by AndrewLewis View Post
    I'm a little late to the party, but thanks for the article Nick. It's great. It's articles like this that make me want a printed anthology of SS articles.