starting strength gym

Thread: Will it hamper progress

Default Will it hamper progress

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I am just starting out with the Novice Program. I am less than a month in and have made motivational gains so far on all the exercises (135 -> 215lb on squat and deadlift, 115 -> 155 on bench press, 65 -> 105 on press). Admittedly, I added chin ups to the routine every time. I am willing to knock that out if that is perceived as unnecessary until I stop making progress in the other lifts.

My stats: 34yo male, 5'11", 190lb, 34" waist so estimated 17% body fat. Over the past year I lost 50lb through diet and running, and I believe a significant portion was muscle.

I had previously signed up for a half marathon this July and another in the fall, so I am having to continue with my endurance running. Right now, I am following the novice program for MWF, swimming T, running Th, cycling Sat, long run Sun. After the fall race, I plan to knock down the endurance training to just the weekend. I am not afraid of gaining weight, as I figure that it will be mostly muscle and I don't necessarily need abs (just want to stay in the 15-20%body fat range).

I read a vague article (why-will-you-not-do-the-program), and was wondering if there were any specific details that could be given about how this will negatively affect my getting stronger.

My goal is overall health, so if I never achieve 500lb squat, that's fine. But, I want to maintain the ability to run half marathons while also being as strong as I can be.

On a funny note, I think I am the only guy at my gym that actually uses the power rack.

Welcome! Congrats on the weight loss, and taking up strength training. You're in the right place.