starting strength gym

Thread: Discovering Strength: An Orthopedic Surgeon’s Perspective | Frederick J. Barnes

Default Discovering Strength: An Orthopedic Surgeon’s Perspective | Frederick J. Barnes

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    My job has been to help patients after their injury. But what if I shifted focus and spent more of my time educating patients on the benefits of strength acquisition and its relationship to fracture prevention?

Read article

This is an excellent article and I enjoyed reading it immensely.

I guess it goes without saying that I fucking loved this.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonathon Sullivan View Post
    I guess it goes without saying that I fucking loved this.
    I'm intrigued by your practice.

I'm a family physician in the Austin area. I'm relatively young in my practice. Graduated from residency in 2015. I spent two years in a small town in east Texas practicing rural medicine (delivered 160 babies there, carried a 3-4 patient/day inpatient census, high volume (25-35/day on my schedule) rural health clinic, etc.) Lost my practice there when the hospital I was working for closed due to bankruptcy. I moved an hour east and took a job at another rural hospital only to find out 15 months later that they were in talks with bankruptcy attorneys. At that point, I gave up on rural medicine and took a job in the Austin suburbs. I've got 3 young sons and a wife who's adventurous enough to stay home with them. I couldn't keep bouncing between financially strapped hospitals.