starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Skinny man stalling too early part 79586

Default Skinny man stalling too early part 79586

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello,
    I am new to the forum so please forgive me if I'm posting this on the wrong board. Also I'm European so forgive me for using the SI.

I'm 27yo, 6'1" (186cm) and I weigh 176 pounds (80 kg). I started SS 6 weeks and a half ago at 167 pounds (76 kg).
    I have NO sports or gym background prior to the age of 24 when I started some kind of hybrid bodybuilding-strength split (ugh), when I weighted around 152 pounds (69 kg).
    I've tried some badly interpreted versions of the linear progression intermittently over the last two years but was always disappointed by the super early stalls and the incapability of holding up to the increments in weight (I think my best squat was 156 for 5).

I told myself it was the lack of food, meticulous sleep, and training intensity and that this time around would have been different because I've read the book, listened to podcasts, went through the important articles.
    It turns out that my progression crashed pretty quickly, for example on the squat:
    I started at 132 pounds (60 kg) for 5 and until 154 pounds it was hard but sustainable. That's over the course of 5 workouts with around 5.5 pounds increment, and my gym doesn't really have smaller plates to go any lower on the Olympic bars.

After that everything went down. I started progressing every other workout (159x5x3, then 164 with failed sets, then 164x5x3... you get the idea) and I just now reset the squat from 176 (80 kg) to 160 (72 kg) after failing 3 workouts in a row, but it was never smooth as you can tell.

I warm up with two sets of empty barbell, then 45% x5, 65% x3, 85% x2. No less than 3-4 mins of rest between the hard sets.