starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner trainee with arduous physical job

Default Beginner trainee with arduous physical job

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey all. I'm 31, Male, and I've been training on the SS program for about 2 months. Working my way through SS:BBT, learning a lot. Training is going well, especially now that I'm eating like I should.

My issue is that I'm a farmer, and what's worse I'm the hippy-dippy organic type of farmer that does most everything manually, and on foot. This means that for 7-8 months out of the year, the amount of physical stress in my life increases by a lot. Lots of digging, lots of planting, lots of carrying shit around, etc.

Right now this isn't an issue. Luckily, when I started the program my workload was already on the downward end-of-season slope, so I've had plenty of time and energy to train. Planning for next season, though, I'm wondering how my farm work and training will affect each other. Being brand new to training I don't have much of a perspective on this and was hoping to get some of yours. I'm sure some of you have physical jobs, or have had them at some point during your training history. Specifically, I'm wondering:

(1) Should I plan to alter my training program during the more strenuous season?

(2) Is it more desireable to train before or after a long day of physical work?

(3) How much more should I plan to eat? I typically lose weight during the season, which I'm aware would be deleterious to my training progress.

I'm not overly worried. I plan on training year round, and I'm sure it can be done. Training has already shown promise as an aid to my work, in fact. For instance, I can carry two sacks of chicken feed just about as easily as I used to carry one. Anyway, I won't go on and on. Any insights you could provide on the issues above would be welcome.