starting strength gym

Thread: Hidden strength

Default Hidden strength

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’m 6ft 200lbs 33 yrs old. I started lifting at a young age but I didn’t start lifting properly until high school. We had a strength/powerlifting coach. I was strong for my age and it took me pretty far in sports. I was 205 lbs in high school. After high school I stopped playing sports and stopped lifting all together. I got fat and developed multiple health problems. By 25 I ballooned up to 265lbs. On my 30th birthday I started lifting again and dieted. I avoided the major barbell lifts because of back, hip, and knee problems. However, I still perform compound lifts but mostly used plate loaded machines or dumbbells. For the past three years I have done some variation of push, pull, legs 3-5 days a week, progressive overload, high volume bodybuilding style. Three sets of 8-10 reps starting with a compound movement then lots of accessories. I have made significant muscle and strength gains. I have bulked to 215lbs and cut to 190lbs twice. I am currently around 200lbs. My question is would someone like me benefit from starting strength? In other words, are there untapped gains in starting strength or will I reach the same strength levels eventually doing something else? Even if it’s not optimal. Also, should I approach the program differently because I am trained and not a true beginner? I don’t know what my big three numbers are but to give you an idea of my strength level, yesterday I seated overhead pressed 80lb dumbbells for three sets of 8 with 2 minute breaks.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Brainstrain View Post
    My question is would someone like me benefit from starting strength?
    It's a fair description of what you did/are doing.

But how strong are you in terms of plate loaded barbells?

How much stronger do you want to be or think you need to be?