starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What Happens When a Lifter Gets Old | Starting Strength Radio #35

Default What Happens When a Lifter Gets Old | Starting Strength Radio #35

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Rippetoe gets introspective as he reflects on 40 plus years of training at the age of 63.

Transcript & Episode Resources

"Some terrible things have happened over the course of 44 years of training. And the bar is always your friend. That's where you put bad things. And it's that's that's really why I started training. And here I am 44 years later and I still kind of training on a semi-regular basis."

Default Adding Life to our Years

Hi Rip,

Fifty-seven year old guy here, trained most of my life, now in my first year of SS training. Thanks very much for the heart to heart. I appreciate your candor and your realistic attitude. I have often wondered about when and how to push, and you answered that nicely. You also have inspired me to reread the Barbell Prescription and Practical Programming, and to get back in touch with my coach to talk about my program.

Interesting video, even though only a fraction of the audience is in that age bracket, it's still relevant to everyone. Barring tragedy, we're all gonna get old eventually.

Also, that ending gave me a good giggle.

Quote Originally Posted by CommanderFun View Post
    Interesting video, even though only a fraction of the audience is in that age bracket
    Who do you think our audience is? A bunch of 23-year-old powerlifters?

I don't know, sounded like you thought it was only going to be of interest to a portion of the viewers in the beginning. I just thought personally it was relevant even if you're not there yet.

I think our audience is primarily 35-65. But most of them are not old beat-up lifters with 42 years under the bar.