starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: deadlifts are amazing for snow skiing

Default deadlifts are amazing for snow skiing

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’ve been doing heavy deadlift 3x5 twice per week for several months. I’m on a ski trip out west with my family and I can’t believe how much better I am skiing. My legs simply do not get tired and I can make it top to bottom without major burn. So glad I found this website!!!

Our of curiosity are you doing an LP with the four basic lifts or just deads?

I've been doing SS for 2 ski seasons now and it does indeed make a huge difference.

Man, deadlifts are just amazing, period. Even for the simple benefit of improving your regular posture I think they're more than worth it.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveARodgers View Post
    Our of curiosity are you doing an LP with the four basic lifts or just deads?

I've been doing SS for 2 ski seasons now and it does indeed make a huge difference.
    I do LP but sparingly bench press.

I saw a video where a hairy strongman said you should not deadlift. At all. Never. He is bigger and stronger then any of you so he must know his shit better than you.

I saw that same video. As a result, we no longer advocate the deadlift.

Quote Originally Posted by RATSKRAD View Post
    I’ve been doing heavy deadlift 3x5 twice per week for several months. I’m on a ski trip out west with my family and I can’t believe how much better I am skiing. My legs simply do not get tired and I can make it top to bottom without major burn. So glad I found this website!!!
    Not just the DL, but all of the lifts. Snow season is the season I live for, with inbounds and backcountry snowboarding taking up most of my weeks, which means that in the winter [cover your ears Mark] I go into maintenance mode, striving to get under the bar for each of the lifts once a week.