starting strength gym

Thread: Had knee replacement

Default Had knee replacement

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello Rip,
    I had both knees replaced about 18 months ago. I started training six months after the operation. I am 56 years old and overweight at 295 & 6’2”. I am able to squat reps with 315 ( no need to go higher) and deadlift 285. Pressing has completely eliminated a pain from torn rotator cuff injury In my right shoulder. All is well if I could wire my jaws shut and lose weight.

Anyway, my question : with two artificial knees, am I pushing my luck with that much weight ? My wife & friends say I’m crazy. My surgeon, who is a slim runner/ biker/ skier, seemed unfamiliar with weight training and said “that weight seems a bit excessive” and nothing more.

Does anyone has experience or know of folks trying to train after knee replacement.

Thank you

Quote Originally Posted by pcairney View Post
    Hello Rip,
    I had both knees replaced about 18 months ago. I started training six months after the operation. I am 56 years old and overweight at 295 & 6’2”. I am able to squat reps with 315 ( no need to go higher) and deadlift 285. Pressing has completely eliminated a pain from torn rotator cuff injury In my right shoulder. All is well if I could wire my jaws shut and lose weight.

Anyway, my question : with two artificial knees, am I pushing my luck with that much weight ? My wife & friends say I’m crazy. My surgeon, who is a slim runner/ biker/ skier, seemed unfamiliar with weight training and said “that weight seems a bit excessive” and nothing more.

Does anyone has experience or know of folks trying to train after knee replacement.

Thank you