starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bar Whip on Heavy Sets of Squats

Default Bar Whip on Heavy Sets of Squats

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have a unique situation that I have no experience fixing. I have a lifter I work with online who is a massively strong individual. His last Squat workout was 5x5 at 505lbs, watching his technique video he was getting loose in the bottom and had some knee slide. His response was that the bar whip at the bottom and top of the squat was throwing him off a bit. He said there are no stiffer bars available at his gym. My advice was to use iron plates if possible (he was using bumpers) to get the center of mass closer to the middle, OR purchase his own bar and store/bring it with him.

I have absolutely zero experience on an issue like this as I don't think I'll ever squat a weight so heavy that the whip causes issues. Are there any other pieces of advice from more experienced coaches?

Also, I did not include a video as I have not asked him permission to share it with you.

The bumper plates are the obvious problem. I guess it's time for him to invest in his training.

He bought an Ohio Power Bar today, investment has been made.

The plates are the problem, not the bar.

I recently went to a small local meet. They did have an Ohio Power Bar, but used bumper plates on all lifts. Even with that bar it was the whippiest squat of my life. It was awful to have to manage that shit.
    I train with an Ohio Power Bar and iron plates. No whip issues at all squatting the same weights I did in that meet.

Deflection of a bar is generally governed by the following equation:

Deflection = (FL^3)/("Some Constant"*E*I) where I is the second area moment of inertia. In the case of a rod, I = Pi*(r^4)/4, so we can see that the equation becomes

Deflection = (FL^3)/("Some Constant"*E*r^4).