starting strength gym

Thread: GOMAD advice

Default GOMAD advice

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey,
    I just discovered Starting Strength in December 2019, I've listened to both Starting Strength and Practical Programming for Strength Training twice on Audible in the last 6 weeks.

In both books Mr Rippetoe talks about the GOMAD diet for a hard gaining youth.
    I'm a very active half-marathon runner/triathlete in my mid forties, last year I switched over to competing in Spartan Races, which is why I ended up looking for strength training advice.
    I'm just about to start the Liner Progression training as a novice (as advised in the aforementioned books). I was a gymnast in my youth, then later tried weight training and martial arts, although I have remained very active since my youth, I'm happy to start the program from the position of an absolute novice.

Please can I have some advice ?

How much milk would you advise drinking a day for a novice 183lbs - 5'8 mid forties male?
    I don't seem to have any trouble putting on weight if i give myself half a chance.

This is my first post, please don't crucify me if this has been addressed elsewhere, I've looked but couldn't find an answer.

Cheers,
    Jonathan.

Milk is to add calories in a convenient way. Use it if you need to add calories and milk is convenient for you. Adjust as needed.

This topic has been addressed a ridiculous number of times, something that strikes me as rather strange given the simplicity of the subject.

Here are a couple of articles discussing things:
    One
    Two
    Three

Please use this for more.

Quote Originally Posted by JKS View Post
    Hey,
    I just discovered Starting Strength in December 2019, I've listened to both Starting Strength and Practical Programming for Strength Training twice on Audible in the last 6 weeks.

In both books Mr Rippetoe talks about the GOMAD diet for a hard gaining youth.