starting strength gym

Thread: Leg length discrepancy, shims, and helicopter squats

Default Leg length discrepancy, shims, and helicopter squats

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Greetings all. Some general parameters to get the ball rolling: IBDTP for 7 months. For 20 years prior I sold out on cardio (I’m a wildland firefighter, for training I did trail marathons and half’s) and then I broke my foot two years ago and stopped running. I get an hour and a half PT a day, so I started strength training. Found the program, took my squat up to 350, bench to 250, deadlift to 390. There are no starting strength gyms around, I lift in the engine bay at work or my home gym, and no one I am familiar with is certified to coach. I rely on the good book, Alan Thrall and Omar, my IPhone, and my wife to try to execute the lifts properly.

I have a congenital defect that has my right hip set higher than my left (confirmed with x ray) and this makes my right leg .75” shorter than my left. Per Mark’s excellent article on the subject I presently use a piece of floor matting as a shim to even everything out. Form appears good when this is used.

Now that I’m pushing a combined total of 1000 (my initial goal) I would like to do a powerlifting meet just to make it official. Unfortunately, when I squat without the shim, my left side bottoms out with a straight bar path while my right (short side) fails to hit depth and the bar collapses forward causing a forward knee shift at the bottom (no valgus, more like a dive bomb). When I come out of the hole, I helicopter the right side while the left side bar path remains straight.

How do I manage this problem for a meet? Would it be possible for me to wear a squat shoe on one foot and a wrestling shoe on another or would that get flagged? Need some options here....

Thanks.