starting strength gym

Thread: Why do we shim in the case of a femoral length discrepancy? (I apologise)

Default Why do we shim in the case of a femoral length discrepancy? (I apologise)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Why do we shim the shorter leg in the case of a femur discrepancy? If we stagger the stance by the same length as the discrepancy, without shimming, wont the hips be even at the top and bottom of the squat? What am I missing?

I am a noob and a moron, obviously. I assume this is a stupid question but I couldn't find or figure out the answer.

If anyone with knowledge could help me out, that would be much appreciated.

FYI I'm doing it just like it says to do in the article, works great!

Staggered stance rotate your hips and rotated hips do not provide symetrical base for your spine. That is the way I see it.

First up, thanks for replying I do appreciate it.. Surely a staggered stance (when staggered the same distance as the discrepancy) would not result in any rotation? Basic maths no? Besides, a staggered stance is called for in the article.

I’m just confused about the reason for the shim.. Wouldn’t shimming AND staggering the stance result in uneven hips?

I’ve been racking my brains, can’t for the life of me think of the reason. Dare I even suggest this could be a mistake in the article? As I said, I’m a noob, so feel free to crucify me.

With an LLD of 20mm, maths dictates that if you stagger the stance by 20mm the pelvis will become level. Alternatively, if you shim by 20mm then the hips will be level. Therefore if you do both by 20mm (which is what is called for in the article), the hips cannot be level.

It will result in the hip on the side of the shorter leg being lower by 20mm.