starting strength gym

Thread: Should I keep gaining weight?

Default Should I keep gaining weight?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’ve been lifting for about 4 years. I have only been on a serious strength program for about two years though. I am coming back from an ACL surgery, so my lower body lifts are lagging behind compared to my upper. I am at a crossroads because I don’t know if I should keep gaining weight while trying to get stronger, or try to shed some fat. I’m only 5’ 8” so I look pretty bulky already at 180lbs.

Stats:
    5’ 8”
    180lbs
    19 years old
    Bench: 250 x 3
    Press 155 x 3
    Squat: 275 x 5
    Deadlift 325 x 5
    Eating around 3000 - 3500 calories a day, I also have a manual labor job with long hours.

For my upper body lifts I’m running the 4 day texas method. For the squat and deadlift I have been running LP after coming back from the knee surgery. All my lifts are stuck, I’m not able to add weight to the bar anymore. My body weight has been stuck for the past few weeks as well. Should I keep gaining weight to drive progress? Would it be a mistake to try and cut weight now? Should I make some changes to programming? Legs have always been a weak point for me and I want to get my squat and deadlift up. It is very easy for me to eat a surplus when I want to but I fear gaining too much weight being a short guy.

You're 19. Take advantage of the fact that you're still swimming in hormones, add 1000 calories a day, and make the most of your training.

At your age If you want to get really strong than yes eat more

You are moderately strong now, but if you take advantage of your age you can build muscle mass Now that you will never be able to gain 10 years from now

That mass will benefit you your entire life You don’t get another shot at being late teens early twenties