starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength and autism

Default Starting Strength and autism

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi all,

I have a new client who is the mother of a 14 year old boy with autism. She wants him to get big and strong, great.

I have plenty of experience in coaching strength, more or less founded on the SS method from a movement pattern and programming and really general philosophy of strength perspective, and I have some experience in cross training strength for teenage male basketball players, but I have no experience in dealing with people with autism.

During the meeting with the two of them I was very tempted to just wash my hands of the whole situation, but they were referred to me by another coach who wouldn't touch them, and I know that the boy will struggle to find a coach if I don't take him on, and I really believe he will benefit from strength training, so I intend to just do the best I can. I took him aside for ten minutes and started coaching the squat with him, just to see if he can take coaching. It wasn't a long time and it was a little bit squirrely, but basically I got the feeling he can take instruction.

I've started doing some online research into general practice regarding dealing with/tutoring autistic children, but really if anybody has any experience specifically coaching autistic people in barbell training, and has any tips, I would be grateful to hear them.

Thanks, hope you're all keeping well and staying strong during the end times.

Jake

JN Fitness Luxembourg.

Since autism does not change his anatomy or muscular physiology, just coach the boy like you would anybody else. Both of you will learn something.

Brodie Butland is offline Starting Strength Coach
    Consigliere

Read this:
    Expanded Use of Tactile Cues | Nicholas Racculia