starting strength gym

Thread: 50 reps vs 5RM

Default 50 reps vs 5RM

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    So I have a 320 lb squat for five reps. When I'm challenged by these guys, who have maybe a 225 lb 5RM, to do 50 squats at 85 lb, I get tired much sooner than they do. Now, I get that if I'm going to do many reps at a decent weight, say 225 lb, then it's best to increase my max, rather than train for endurance on 225 lb. But if I'm lifting silly light weights, like 85 lb, I don't see how increasing my max would improve my performance. Is there a ratio where it is no longer beneficial to increase the max in order to improve the light weight? Although I much prefer to increase my max anyway in order to get stronger.

You train and adapt to endurance just like you train and adapt for strength.

If a total novice start to train for 50 rep squat, his endurance in this event will go up and his strength will go up a little

If the same novice will train for strength his endurance for 50 rep at 85 will go up a little and his strength will go up a lot.

So if they have 225 5RM and they challenge you to 50 rep battle, you should challenge them to 10 rep @225 battle and call them a pussies if they fail.

It won’t immediately affect your performance on the 85 pound squat in terms of reps. At least, I would expect exhaustion fairly early. When you do 85x50, the way your body uses glycogen is entirely different than when you’re doing 315x3x5.

I’m grossly dumbing this down, but when you train heavy, your body is configured one way. When you train for high volume and endurance, it reconfigures itself another way. There’s an extremely detailed SS Coaches conference in which Drs. Sullivan, Baracki, Feigenbaum, and I think Morris give a talk about energy systems, glycolysis, Krebbs Cycles, injuries, etc... I recommend you watch it.