starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Apprenticeship

Default Apprenticeship

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Graduated last year summa cum laude from LSU in political science, but looking at the job market, I think I can make more money getting into an apprenticeship program and doing some sort of trade rather than trying to find a job where my degree is relevant. I'm considering plumbing. Any advice?

Build a time machine, travel to approximately 2015 and write a letter to your then self--for our sake, please don't screw with the spacetime continuum--to not enroll in your purple and yellow money trap, travel back to August 28, 2020, and enjoy your job in plumbing. Or you could get an apprenticeship now and be on your way to a better paying, more satisfying career, but what's the fun in that?

I have my own business that I took over from my father. I have been doing this job my entire life, over 50 years. NOW is the best time to learn a trade. You will bust your ass for about 5 hard years then, and get paid well, then you will not believe how much you earn. The world needs more plumbers. Trade schools are dying. All the younger people want to do today is sell mobile phone or make coffee.

I assume you are interested in remaining in Louisiana. If so there are plenty of opportunities in industrial mechanical trades related to refineries and chemical plants. Pre-Corona there were not enough people to do the work. It will take some time but it will come back.

Quote Originally Posted by plumber View Post
    All the younger people want to do today is sell mobile phone or make coffee.