starting strength gym

Thread: Progress check

Default Progress check

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi, I'm 40 years old and 5'8" (current weight 180#) I've been doing the lifts of the basic NLP for about 6 months - Squat, press/bench press, and dead lift. Staring weights were - squat 120# 3x5, press 90# 3x5, bench press 115# 3x5, and dead lift 185# 1x5. Starting weight was 145#. Current numbers body weight 180# squat 215# 3x5, press 118# 3x5, bench 180# 3x5, and dead lift 307# 1x5. I think my squat is lagging because it took me a while to really nail the technique also I had insisted on squating "ass to grass" as low as I could possibly get which stalled progress around 165#. Once I was OK with just breaking parallel my weight started going up steadily. Also progress lagged because for about the first 4 months I never really increased my caloric intake. I had spent the past two years running and losing weight so It was tough trying to eat more. I'm now aiming for about 2500 to 3000 net calories per day which has helped progress noticeably. I have not started power clean yet because I seem to still be making steady progress on the dead lift and I hate the power clean it's hard to learn. Luckily I have my own equipment at home so the covid has not affected my workouts. At this point I plan on continuing on the NLP to see how far I can take it. I know I will have to add the power clean at some point so I will.