starting strength gym

Thread: Starting Strength or Texas Method coming from Bodybuilding

Default Starting Strength or Texas Method coming from Bodybuilding

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey everyone,

So for most of my lifting career I suffered from fuckarounditis. In college when I got into lifting and got my newbie gains I made the mistake of skipping leg day too much. I started lifting at 20 but currently I am a 26 yo Male, 5'11, 190lbs. I have primarily done bodybuilding style training and am happy with my physique but very dissatisfied with my strength. My current lifts are Bench 225, Squat 225, Deadlift 335x2, Press 145.

My question is: because I have never done an official strength program, but have past my newbie gains phase and have done all the lifts for year (albeit probalby shitty), should I start with Starrting Strength as a Beginer to training or Texas Method? My real goal is to maintain my bench and press but significantly focus on increasing my squat. Any insights appreciated!

Thanks,
    Storkman

Quote Originally Posted by storkman8 View Post
    have past my newbie gains phase
    With those numbers, not even close to have passed your newbie gains phase. It's not a matter of how long you've been fucking around in the gym, it's what you've done in the gym. You're still a newbie (seriously). And young.

Are those your single numbers for those lifts? Triples? 20's? Regardless, run the Novice Linear Program (including eating/sleeping right) as written. Chances are that you'll have to rework your form, especially on the squat (low bar/below parallel), so keep the lifts lighter than your current lift numbers for a bit until you get that form correct.