starting strength gym

Thread: Poor shoulder mobility and low bar squat

Default Poor shoulder mobility and low bar squat

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I’m a beginner with poor shoulder mobility and I cannot get the bar to the low bar position while maintaining a neutral grip. What should I do to develop the flexibility I need to set up the squat correctly? I tried widening my grip and that didn’t work. I have rounded shoulders, they’re just not flexible enough to get into that position. Is there any exercise I can do to develop the flexibility I need to do this? Frustrated because I really want to start doing to program ASAP but this has got me dead on arrival.

Quote Originally Posted by zewski View Post
    I’m a beginner with poor shoulder mobility and I cannot get the bar to the low bar position while maintaining a neutral grip. What should I do to develop the flexibility I need to set up the squat correctly? I tried widening my grip and that didn’t work. I have rounded shoulders, they’re just not flexible enough to get into that position. Is there any exercise I can do to develop the flexibility I need to do this? Frustrated because I really want to start doing to program ASAP but this has got me dead on arrival.
    I had good mobility until I got some sort of tendonitis (biceps, supraspinatus, not sure which). Tried the Horn stretch, but it wasn't working or me. What helped was to do the bench or press first, widening my grip and moving in, and getting under the bar and squeezing my elbows to my sides. All of these are adaptations I started incorporating until I found the right combo for me.