starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "SS" with a Hex Bar

Default "SS" with a Hex Bar

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I picked up a copy of Starting Strength and Practical Programming a couple months ago. I set up a home gym during quarantine to get back into it after a year or so of bodyweight training/cycling. I've been training for 2 months now and have gone from 185x5x3 squat, 185x5x3 bench, 95x5x3 press, and 275x5 hex deadlift to 275x5x3 squat, 205x5x3 bench, 122.5x5x3 press, and 350x5 hex deadlift. I have gone from 6'2 195 to 205 at 26 yrs old. I have spent a lot of time working on my deadlift form but it's just never that strong. I have always been able to pull more weight from the low handles of the hex bar.

I understand Rip's problems with the lockout position and stability of the hex bar but I find it hard to believe that properly executed deadlifts move more weight than hex bar deadlifts. This seems to be validated by exrx standards, which consistently list hex bar weight standards 5% higher than conventional deadlift standards based on real lifts. I have a couple friends who are competitive powerlifters, and they seem to agree that they can pull more weight using the hex bar. One friend in particular set the USPA American record for the deadlift in his weight class with a 760lb pull, and he says he is stronger from the low handles of the hex bar. It seems to me, at the very least, that there are people who can pull more using a hex bar.

I also have a problem with the supposedly high back angle that is attributed to the hex bar deadlift, given that it is clearly not optimal for moving heavy weight, and is not required by the movement. My back angle is actually quite horizontal on trap bar deadlifts because that it is a stronger position for me to pull from.