starting strength gym

Thread: Hello - New Guy and Flexibility Question

Default Hello - New Guy and Flexibility Question

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi everyone! I started lifting weights again about three months ago. I'm 37 now (~6' 230 lbs) and just felt like it was the best option for my long term health and well being. Played HS football (shocking, my coach didn't know what he was talking about when it came to lifting) and dabbled with running and a somewhat serious stretch of triathlons since then.

I just started the Starting Strength program this past Monday (I got the book for Christmas). My general question is regarding shoulder flexibility. I'm not even close to being able to get into correct position on the squat and press. Will my shoulders loosen up quickly? I don't want to get to lifting higher weights with bad form. I'll look around the board for some more info, but thought I'd drop in and say hello.

Quote Originally Posted by TheWorker View Post
    Hi everyone! I started lifting weights again about three months ago. I'm 37 now (~6' 230 lbs) and just felt like it was the best option for my long term health and well being. Played HS football (shocking, my coach didn't know what he was talking about when it came to lifting) and dabbled with running and a somewhat serious stretch of triathlons since then.

I just started the Starting Strength program this past Monday (I got the book for Christmas). My general question is regarding shoulder flexibility. I'm not even close to being able to get into correct position on the squat and press. Will my shoulders loosen up quickly? I don't want to get to lifting higher weights with bad form. I'll look around the board for some more info, but thought I'd drop in and say hello.